jump to navigation

Cautious optimism… May 3, 2005

Posted by PAS in cancer.
Tags: ,
trackback

The NYC oncologist ran CT scans last Tuesday before my latest treatment–and the scans show significant tumor reduction in my liver. It’s maybe the first genuinely unreservedly positive thing that’s happened since surgery in February. For a minute I feel like it’s realistic to be hopeful, more realistic than its been since my diagnosis. For a minute I feel myself taking chances on planning, thinking about a future that may actually happen. For a minute…

A year ago Saturday I was sitting in Kirshner’s office, listening to him tell me that I had a fatal disease, and that in my case, it likely *would* be fatal. A year ago yesterday I was in surgery for a mediport, so that I could start chemo on May 3–15 rounds of hand-to-hand combat with oxaliplatin, leucovorin, 5-FU and Avastin. The good news from the scans knocked the melancholy feelings I have about the anniversary of my diagnosis right out of the headlines in my head, made that anniversary just a footnote on the bottom of the back page for the day.

Maybe the good news can keep those headlines in 8point type on the bottom of the backpage for a couple more days. I’d really like to keep feeling this positive.

